Skip navigation

Not that it’s anything major or life-changing.
BUT!
I just don’t understand…

Alright, here’s the situation. I gotta need some help from the nice people out there.
Please tell me your opinion in the comments!

The sentences go this way –
“… … You would think my father was very heartening.
I would think so, if he was not clasping my hands so tightly – with his clammy ones.”

How would you read this sentence?
1. The author says the reader would think the father to be very heartening and she would think that the reader would think this way if he was not clasping her hands so tightly then…

2. The author says the reader would think the father to be very heartening and she would think the same way if he was not clasping her hands so tightly then….

Note: Throughout the passage, there was no mention or clue of the father’s clammy hands or whatsoever.
There was, however, a short description like this –

“… …
「Hey princess, Daddy was just like you.」 He grasped my hands with the larger version of his and gave the cheesiest grin I had ever seen. This “million-dollar smile” of his, rumored to have won my mother over (my parents were the only gossip mongers for this), was pushing his cheekbones all the way up; and the bones in turn nudged his glasses a little higher than they should have been.

「I went to Asclepius, but I kept all my friends from Guatama while meeting new people in school.」
You would think my father was very heartening.

I would think so, if he was not clasping my hands so tightly – with his clammy ones.
… …”

Eric insisted on one interpretation while I stubbornly refused to give up on my original phrasing…
BLAH!
HELP…

😀 Thanks…

Leave a Reply

